

REGIONAL COUNCIL 9 NOMINATING COMMITTEE MAY 27, 2025 1:00 PM TO 2:00 PM IN-PERSON MEETING

1001 RESEARCH PARK BLVD., SUITE 301, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22911

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/89492350276

MINUTES

Members Attending: Tom Click, Tina Weaver **Members Attending Virtually:** Jean Runyon

Members Absent: Cathy Schafrik

Staff Attending: Shannon Holland, Christie Taylor

1. Opening

Call to Order
 Tom Click called the meeting to order at 1:04 PM.

Roll Call

A quorum was established, as noted above.

Public Comment

There were no public comments emailed or presented.

2. Consent Agenda – ACTION ITEM

Meeting Minutes, February 14, 2025

Tina Weaver made a motion to approve the Minutes as the official record of that meeting though no members present at this meeting attended. Jean Runyon seconded the motion. Motion carried.

3. Develop Slate - ACTION ITEM

- Tom Click outlined the meeting goals: choose private sector nominees, identify officers and an executive committee, and recommend Task Force assignments and Chairs. Additionally, a new Nominating Committee Chair must be selected as Tom Click will leave the Council on June 30.
- Shannon Holland reviewed the meeting materials. Highlights included:
 - The term spreadsheet designates the term status of each council member for FY 2026. Sector representation and task force roles are also noted. Three members have reached term limits: Tom Click, Brian Cole, and Andy Wade. Additionally, Brandon Payne resigned in April due to an out of state move. The remaining members with expiring terms are eligible for another term.
 - Bylaws dictate the process for filling seats. For FY 26, there is one open Chamber of Commerce seat and three open At-Large seats. Chamber nominations are eligible for both seat types, whereas At-Large nominations can only fill At-Large seats.
 - o Gizelle Curtis has been re-appointed by CVPED for another 3-year term.
 - Jean Runyon has been chosen by her fellow community college presidents to serve an additional three-year term.

- Ike Broaddus has been nominated by RRRC to serve another term.
- After June 6th, RRRC will advise whether Jonathon Weakley will be re-appointed for another 3-year term or if a new individual will be chosen.
- The economic development officers from PD-10 have selected Jennifer Schmack from Fluvanna County to serve on the Council.
- Both the Chair and Vice Chair must be private sector. However, the Treasurer/Secretary can be either in the public or private sector.
- The Task Force Membership list was included so that the committee can consider where nominees might serve and who might chair each Task Force.
- The attendance spreadsheet was discussed and edits made based on committee feedback.
- Nominations and Draft Slate The committee discussed the nominations summarized below and developed the attached draft Slate. The committee also discussed the Task Force Assignments and selected Chairs for each Task Force as noted in the attached Task Force Slate.

Nominations:

Туре	Nominee	Title/ Company	Locality
			Headquartered
At-Large	Christina Clough	Vice President, Senior	Charlottesville
		Commercial Lender, Pioneer Bank	
At-Large	Rahul Keshap	Shuru Law, Principal	Charlottesville
Chamber –	Gary Wood	President & CEO, Firefly	Nelson
Louisa County		Broadband	
Chamber –	Leslie Kidd	Co-Owner, All-Install	Culpeper
Culpeper			

Tina Weaver made a motion to accept the Slate including Officer Nominations, Executive Committee appointments, Task Force leadership and membership assignments, as captured in the attached Slate. Jean Runyon seconded the motion. Motion carried.

4. Other Business

No other business was presented.

5. Adjourn

Tina Weaver made the motion to adjourn the meeting. Jean Runyon seconded the motion. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 1:51PM.



SLATE OF NOMINEES GO VIRGINIA REGIONAL COUNCIL 9 JUNE 17, 2025 ANNUAL MEETING

VOTE FOR ACCEPTANCE

Terms begin July 1, 2025, unless otherwise noted.

PRIVATE SECTOR APPOINTMENTS

Appointing Organization	Name	Term
Central Virginia Partnership	Gizelle F. Curtis Economic Development Manager Dominion Energy	3 years

PUBLIC SECTOR APPOINTMENTS

Appointing Organization	Name	Term
Local Economic Development Officers from Thomas Jefferson Planning District Commission (PD-10)	Jennifer L. Schmack Economic Development Director Fluvanna County	3 Years
Region 9 Community College Presidents	Jean Runyon, PhD President Piedmont Virginia Community College	3 Years
Rappahannock Rapidan Regional Commission (P-9)	The Honorable Edwin "Ike" Broaddus Fauquier County	3 Years
Rappahannock Rapidan Regional Commission (PD-9)	ТВА	3 Years



JUNE 17, 2025 ANNUAL MEETING

VOTE FOR APPROVAL

Terms begin July 1, 2025, unless otherwise noted.

PRIVATE SECTOR MEMBER SLATE Chamber of Commerce & At-Large

Member Type	Name	Term
Chamber of Commerce – Louisa County	Gary Wood, CEO & President, Firefly Fiber Broadband	3 Years
At-Large	Leslie Kidd, Co-Owner, All Install	3 Years
At-Large	Christina Clough, Vice President, Pioneer Bank	3 years
At-Large	Rahul Keshap*, Principal, Shuru Law	Complete term through July 1, 2026

OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FY 26

Role	Name	
Chair*	Rob Archer	
Vice Chair*	Roque Castro	
Treasurer/Secretary	Cathy Schafrik	
At-Large	Ethan Dunstan, Immediate Past Chair	
At-Large	Paige Read	
At-Large		

^{*}Service: Chair and Vice Chair serve from immediately after the Annual Meeting until immediately after the following Annual Meeting or until their successors are subsequently elected. Members filling an unexpired term may start immediately after the Annual Meeting.



Region 9 Council - Task Force Members FY 2026 July 1, 2025 to June 30, 2026

TALENT DEVELOPMENT

Jean Runyon (Chair)

Kim Blosser Roque Castro Cheryl Kirby Cathy Schafrik Tina Weaver

GROWING EXISTING BUSINESSES

Ray Knott (Chair)

Leslie Kidd
Paige Read
Francoise Seillier-Moiseiwitsch
Jennifer Schmack
Gary Wood

ENTREPRENEURSHIP

Pace Lochte (Chair)

Rob Archer Christine Clough Ethan Dunstan Rahul Keshap Paige Read

SITES

Christine Jacobs (Chair)

Ike Broaddus Gizelle Curtis Ned Galloway Patrick Mauney Paige Read