

# Regional Council 9 Nominating Committee Meeting June 1, 2022 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM

Germanna's Daniel Technology Center, 18121 Technology Drive, Culpeper, VA

## **MINUTES**

Members Attending: Ed Dalrymple, Jr. (Chair), Patrick Mauney, and Ed Scott

Members Absent: Christine Jacobs
Staff: Shannon Holland

### I. Welcome

Ed Dalrymple called the meeting to order at 3:07 p.m. A quorum was established. Attendance is noted above. No members of the public were present and no comments were received.

# II. Approve Meeting Minutes

Ed Scott made a motion to approve the Meeting Minutes as presented. Patrick Mauney seconded the motion. The motion carried.

## III. Develop Slate

Before beginning discussions on the private sector, Ed Dalrymple asked Shannon Holland for an update. Shannon Holland noted that per the Region 9 Bylaws, several appoints had already been made, including:

- The presidents of Piedmont Virginia Community College, Germanna Community
  College, and Laurel Ridge Community College (formerly Lord Fairfax) collectively
  appointed Dr. Jean Runyon of PVCC to serve in the public sector seat being vacated by
  Dr. Jan Gullickson of Germanna. Dr. Gullickson would be invited to serve as Special
  Guest of the Council.
- The Rappahannock-Rapidan Regional Commission appointed Administrator Jonathan Weakley of Madison County to replace Paul McCulla. Supervisor Jim Crozier of Orange County was appointed to serve another 3-year term.
- The leaders of the Planning District 10 economic development offices have selected Andy Wade to serve another 3-year term.
- The Central Virginia Partnership for Economic Development has appointed Felix Sarfo-Kantanka, Jr. to serve another 3-year term.
- Private Sector Slate The three nominations for the Chamber and At-Large private sector seats were reviewed. Tom Click was nominated by the Louisa County Chamber of Commerce to fill the opening Chamber seat. Jim Cheng and Brian Cole self-nominated for the two At-Large seats. No other nomination forms were received.

Patrick Mauney made a motion to add Tom Click, Brian Cole, and Jim Cheng to the Slate as discussed. Ed Scott seconded the motion. The motion carried.

- Officers and Executive Committee After discussion, the Executive Committee Slate includes:
  - Chair, Ray Knott
  - Vice Chair, Ethan Dunstan
  - Treasurer/Secretary, Patrick Mauney
  - At-Large, Ed Dalrymple, Jr.
  - o At-Large, Ed Scott
  - o At-Large, Yolunda Harrell
  - o At-Large, Jim Cheng

Ed Scott made a motion to approve the Officers and Executive Committee as discussed. Patrick Mauney seconded the motion. The motion carried.

#### IV. Other Business

The committee members recognized that in the next fiscal year, some Council members will not be eligible to stay on as members due to term limitations. There was discussion around how this could affect the institutional knowledge of the Council. The committee members discussed the need for peer-to-peer recommendations for new potential Council members. There was also discussion that regional non-profit leaders could also contribute to the thought leadership of the Council.

## V. Adjourn

Patrick Mauney made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Ed Scott seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 3:37 p.m.